Just for the girls: A green way to deal with that time of the month

February 9, 2012 § 1 Comment

So I held off on blogging about this, because it’s a more private topic. But lately I have been thinking that it’s too important not to write. I wish I had heard about these options so much sooner in life.

A couple of years ago, when I was thinking about cloth diapers as opposed to disposable, I began to wonder if there was a greener way to deal with that time of the month. I did a quick search on the internet and was amazed at what I saw. I found a reusable product called the diva cup. I read the reviews and decided I had to give it a try. It’s a bit of a learning curve, but with a little practice, it is quick. And it makes that time of the month WAY less gross. It’s comfortable and easy to clean. For bonus security, I like to pair the cup with a liner.

There are so many awesome tutorial sites that explain how you can make your own washable liners and pads. I followed this one, and made a bunch out of previously-loved flannel baby blankets.

After making those, I took one of my regular disposable pads and traced it to make my own pattern for some longer liners. I used some fun flannel on these. Custom! And I daresay, cute.


This is another green shape in my life – a win-win-win. For me, the cup is so much more comfortable and effective and the liners are breathable and soft. Also, these reusables are much cheaper than the standard disposable route. For the earth, I am no longer sending all that plastic and packaging to sit and not rot away in a landfill. Okay, I posted it. Spread the word.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Just for the girls: A green way to deal with that time of the month

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just for the girls: A green way to deal with that time of the month at me. make. do..

meta

