Making crackers!

February 6, 2012 § Leave a comment

My friend Alinna passed me a jar of sourdough starter back in October of 2009. We named the 3-year old starter Jim and got a copy of The Cheese Board Collective Works. I read the instructions on maintaining my starter, eager to get some sourdough bread baking in the oven. Then I got to this part:

“To feed it, remove it from the refrigerator, discard all but 1/4 cup, and stir in 1/2 cup lukewarm water and 2/3 cup bread flour.” – p. 91

DISCARD!? I hate wasting things. Oh well. J and I began experimenting with sourdough, and enjoyed baguettes and sourdough rounds. Sometimes we used the discard to make pizza dough, other times we winced as we dumped the extra starter into the compost bin.

But recently, we hung out with our friends Nate and Christina. They always inspire me with their sourdough projects, and suggested we make crackers out of the discard starter. I woke up our neglected starter, and threw together a batch of dough following this whole wheat cracker recipe. Great recipe and super-easy!

The dough sat overnight in my measuring pyrex. In the morning I rolled it out on a silpat baking mat as flat as possible.

Next I cut the crackers into squares gently with a pizza cutter.

Finally, I coated the dough with a layer of olive oil, and sprinkled on kosher salt, sesame seeds, garlic powder, salt, and pepper.

I just love how simple and quick they are. Love! I think I’m going to try to feed Jim once a week, and hopefully make crackers at each feeding.

Our first batch of crackers were gone that same day.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making crackers! at me. make. do..

meta

