Kicking it old school!

July 13, 2011 § Leave a comment

Lately I have been wanting more and more to know how to do things.  Since becoming a stay at home mom, I have gotten interested in growing my own food, sewing clothing for my kids, and baking bread from scratch.  Really, I think it’s how I am wired – I get lots of satisfaction from making things.

All of this has been amplified in my mind since reading the Little House books by Laura Ingalls Wilder.  I blazed through them (apparently they are geared towards kids ages 4-8) and grew more and more amazed at what Pa and Ma could do on their own!  Anyone hunt wild game and then preserve it for the year?  Build a log cabin and attach the door without nails?  Harvest and dry out some straw, then soak it, braid it and make straw hats?  Sew clothes without a machine?  I like to knit, but Almanzo’s family washed and sheared the sheep, carded and spun the wool and then began to knit socks!  WHAT!?  Seriously, I was shocked. They just knew how to do things.

I really do love living in this day and age.  Modern plumbing, grocery stores, sewing machines, etc.  But sometimes there is something soulful about the work, about the process itself.  My grandfather figured out how to build a house on his own.  My dad always says that you learn things by doing.  I’m in.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kicking it old school! at me. make. do..

meta

