Wanting life to converge

March 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

I was recently talking with a mom I met this past year at the park.  She and her family are planning on moving back to the East Coast, where they will be near extended family.  She’s going to be working at the church she grew up in, and told me she’s looking forward to life being less segmented.  In that small town, the church is the center of the community.  She said it’ll be nice to have family, spirituality, and work all in the same place.  She longs for convergence.  Maybe it’s something we all long for.

I told her that this is what I want as well, but here, in this city, in my neighborhood.  I don’t know if I made any sense.  But I, too, want to stop separating everything into different compartments.  I want community and spirituality, and life all in the same place.  I’m starting to dream that it is possible.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wanting life to converge at me. make. do..

meta

