Learning from Yin-Yin

August 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

Stef recently suggested we get together and learn to make dim sum from Yin-Yin.  We gathered together last week and made lots of food!  Potstickers, cha siu bao, red bean bao, deep-fried won ton, gin doi, and hom soy gok.

JK4_1511

I’m beginning to really love making things by hand.  I’ve been reading about how we as a society have become more and more divorced from the processes by which our food, clothing, and household goods are made.  I’m really appreciating being a part of these processes – forming things with my hands, learning the skills, and enjoying the creation.

The other part of it that was precious to me was that we spent time as a family.  While I was kneading some dough, I got a chance to ask Yin-Yin more about her early years as a mother, and to listen to her stories.  Nothing like loved ones working on a task and just enjoying being together.  Love it.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Learning from Yin-Yin at me. make. do..

meta

