good reading: animal, vegetable, miracle

July 26, 2009 § Leave a comment

J, m, and I recently took a good walk over to the Richmond Branch library, which reopened in May of this year.  We have been requesting books and movies and even piano music, and are constantly eager to pick up our holds and browse the shelves.

I found this book called Animal, Vegetable, Miracle, by Barbara Kingsolver.  After reading the back, I thought I give it a try.  Lately I have been thinking a lot more about being more green, buying food more locally, trying to cut down on waste, caring for the world, fighting global exploitation and slavery, and other related issues.  The Lord has been pricking my heart about these things, and challenging me to think about what it means to live more responsibly, thinking about how my decisions have long-lasting impacts on His creation, and on my fellow human beings.  Renata really encouraged me to think about all this when she told me about The Story of Stuff.

I’m not sure what sorts of changes I want to pursue as of yet.  J and I have massively cut down on our random shopping trips to Target and other places where we might browse.  I guess all of this comes at an interesting time, when all of the US is thinking about being green.  I don’t want to care about this stuff because it is trendy, but because God is asking me to think more deeply and outside of just what serves myself and my own comforts.  More thoughts to come…

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading good reading: animal, vegetable, miracle at me. make. do..

meta

