Japanese Stationery Rocks

June 20, 2006 § Leave a comment

We’re now in Shinjuku, Japan.  The food is awesome.  This morning we went to a famous fish market, and had the best sashimi I’ve ever had…EVER!  I was eating very slowly in order to savor the experience.

Yesterday J and I met up with Wendy and her brother.  She showed us some great places (to buy really great pens).  We ate very well, and even had flavored french fries.  We went to Snoopyland, and to a very cool stationary store.  It was great to catch up with an old friend.  🙂

Even though I rarely see any public trash cans, Japan is oddly one of the most clean places I’ve ever experienced.  I have not seen any graffiti, and there is rarely a piece of litter on the ground.  Wow!

But if you know me, I’m a home-body…so although I’m having a great time, I will be glad to come home to my own foggy (hopefully) San Francisco, and to familiar friends and family.

Tomorrow we head out from the Tokyo area to Kyoto.

Note:  I feel a little helpless being unable to communicate.  Whenever J and I purchase something, the cashier says all these things in Japanese, and all we can manage is some weak little head nod and awkward walking away.

Note 2:  They have SPAM!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Japanese Stationery Rocks at me. make. do..

meta

