The Goal of Teaching

November 7, 2005 § Leave a comment

I felt a little mean at school today.  And tired from grading.

Then I came home and watched The Hobart Shakespeareans, a documentary about  a rockin’, change-the-world sort of teacher.  He was reading Huck Finn, and all the kids were CRYING!  I have not seen one child shed a tear in my class simply through my reading or teaching.  Oh man.  They showed footage of him and his kids on their various fieldtrips around the country…footage of him and his kids all playing guitars (he teaches them in class)…and footage of the kids acting out Hamlet in front of Sir Ian McKellan.  OH MAN!  On the last day of school, ALL of the kids were sobbing.

But I am reminded that teaching is not about me, and MY GLORY…

So I’ll keep on.

By the way…anyone have a cool Christmas craft for some fifth grade kids?

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Goal of Teaching at me. make. do..

meta

