Donations, donations

March 31, 2005 § Leave a comment

Yesterday was donation day for our street. This truck comes around the pick up donations from the sidewalk for a certain organization. I love it.

Now if you’ve known me for awhile, you know I LOVE free stuff. I hoard things. Once, Aud, G, and I were heading to Safeway. We passed this corner where this old coffee table had put on the street. “GO BACK!” I shouted to Aud. She wasn’t sure if I was serious, but after quick deliberations, she circled the block. As we loaded this table (with its chipping paint), we figured out how Gina and I would fit back into the car. I know what you’re thinking…we threw it on the street several months later, and another wide-eyed, free-loving person took it in.

But living with Aud taught me the new delight of donating things. Every other week she would clean out as much as she could, and donate it. While I was holding on to as many plastic jars and bottles as I could, she was giving away clothes that still worked. She threw a sewing machine into the donation pile. She gave away her desktop computer and her stereo.

Sometimes I am overwhelmed by all of my things. I’m learning to clean out and to move on. In women’s group we are reading A.W. Tozer’s The Pursuit of God. Chapter 2 is called “The Blessedness of Possessing Nothing”. It speaks all about how God the creator gave us things to bless us, but how man began to look to these blessings instead of to God. He is what I need.

I still enjoy having nice things. I struggle to remember where they belong. My treasure is in heaven.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Donations, donations at me. make. do..

meta

