Spring break

March 28, 2005 § Leave a comment

Wow…it’s what I’ve been waiting for. I’m on SPRING BREAK! Praise the LORD! It’s so funny, I am always eagerly awaiting these breaks. But once I get here, I’m not sure what to do with myself.

Growing up in Hercules, sharing a room with my sister, and always going everywhere with my family, I never really had much opportunity to be alone. But now I realize that there will be times in my life when I am all by myself…and it’s okay. So this week I’m going to have a lot of time to just be quiet and still. We’ll see how it goes.

I don’t know if I mentioned before, but we’re waking up early to spend time with God these days. There have been days when we haven’t been able to drag ourselves up as fast. But once I sit down at the kitchen table and open my Bible, and close my eyes to pray, I feel this strong sense of God’s peace. It has been a long time since I’ve had consistent times to just be still before God. I have no kind of discipline, but this has been just an incredible blessing lately, even when I’m panicked about all the chaos around me.

One more thing…in my small group at church, we’ve been studying the statements Jesus makes about himself. The one that has hit me the most is that Jesus says of Himself, “I am the vine, and you are the branches. If a man remains in me, and I in him, he will bear much fruit. Apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5). In the middle of the day when I feel my impatience level rising out of control, I need to remember that my job is only to abide in God. The patience will come out as fruit if I am attached to the vine. Praise the Lord.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spring break at me. make. do..

meta

