Making breakfast cereal: granola and bran flakes

May 21, 2012 § 6 Comments

Someone recently mentioned that J and I seem to be getting crunchier over the years. I like that description. On the topic of crunchy, I was wondering if anyone makes their own breakfast cereals. I put the question out to facebook, and my friend Helen passed me this great granola recipe from her blog. Another friend emailed me his granola recipe as well. I took a little from both and made my first granola. Yum!

My favorite sweet indulgence lately has been homemade yogurt with a swirl of apricot jam and granola sprinkled over the top. Unbelievable luxury.

I also found this site, which made me to want to make my own bran flakes. Who knew you could do that? I purchased all of the ingredients at my favorite cooperative grocery store, Rainbow.

The dough is made from almond flour, whole wheat flour, wheat bran, sugar, baking powder, salt, milk, and water.

There is something so nice about knowing what has gone into my food.

The tough part was rolling out the sticky dough nice and flat on my Silpats. The fun part was crumbling the giant bran flake into baby bran flakes.

At the end of it all, I had a pile of bran flakes that looked small enough to devour in one sitting. Hmmmm. Worth it? I took a crunch – delicious. A project like this is such a creative outlet for me, so I would say it was a definite win!

The kids love both the granola and the bran flakes. Anyone know how to make Cheerios?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Making breakfast cereal: granola and bran flakes

  • jb says:

    amazing! i can barely pour cereal into the bowls in the morning!

    • marciamallow says:

      Awww…thanks! Seriously, you do so so much every day. The cereal making was crammed in during an afternoon nap, and I won’t even talk about the mess I created and how long it took to get everything back in order.

  • Conor Bofin says:

    I think we might have the record over here in Ireland. My better half and I have been making our own breakfast muesli (granola) for more than 25 years now. It contains oats, flax seeds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, coconut, hazelnuts, cashew nuts, honey, cranberries, raisins, dried apricot and a whole bunch of other stuff that adds to the complex flavour. It is delicious with fresh fruit and natural yoghurt.
    Best,
    Conor

    • marciamallow says:

      Wow – thanks for the additional granola ideas – I will definitely take your advice on some of these great additions! I hope that I keep making my own breakfast granola for as long as you and yours have! Have you tried making your own yogurt?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making breakfast cereal: granola and bran flakes at me. make. do..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

