Making yogurt in the thermal pot

April 13, 2012 § 3 Comments

My kids eat a whole lot of yogurt. It’s the first snack food I pass them when we are home.

I had heard of people making yogurt themselves, and wanted to try it out. There were some great directions on this blog.  Genius! Here’s what I did:

Measure out some milk.  I poured out two quarts.

Heat milk to 180 degrees. It will look bubbly. When it hits 180 degrees, turn off the stove, and let the milk cool to 110 degrees. This part was the most difficult for me – all that waiting!

Scoop out half of a cup of the milk, and stir in a small bit of good yogurt that contains live and active cultures. I used 1 Tbls of Trader Joe’s Organic European-Style yogurt.

Mix the milk-starter mixture in with the rest of the milk. Insulate it. I use my Thermal pot.

Leave it overnight for at least 6 hours. I usually let mine sit for closer to 12 hours.

It’s tangy and delicious mixed with a little jam or fruit. Mmmmm. I’ve done this several times now, and I use yogurt from the previous batch as my starter each time.

Side note: J’s parents purchased this wonderful Thermal pot for us, and we love it.  It is a wonderful alternative to a Crock Pot, and doesn’t need to be plugged in. We make soup by adding ingredients, bringing it to a boil, and then putting it in the thermal pot to cook all day. The soups come out delicious and fresh-tasting. Highly recommend. And now it’s our yogurt-making pot as well!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Making yogurt in the thermal pot

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making yogurt in the thermal pot at me. make. do..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

