Making hand soap from bar soap

January 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

These past few years I have been especially interested in learning how to do things myself. Part of that is wanting to live a more green life (I am going for a deep forest green, if possible), and part of it is for the love of the making. I am amazed at how easy it is to access do-it-yourself information in this day and age. Weeks ago I was scrolling through my Google Reader and came across this blog post on making liquid hand soap. So inspiring! I ordered some glycerin on amazon.

Yesterday J picked up the last piece of our soap-making project Рa beautiful bar of Mrs. Meyers soap. YES! During our nightly ritual of watching Star Trek (currently  we are on Voyager, Season 5), J and I sat and took turns grating the entire bar of soap.

We simmered the shavings along with some glycerin and a gallon of water.

That was it. We left it to cool overnight, and when we found it in the morning, it was a bit chunky on the top. After just a little tiny bit of water and a nice blending with the immersion blender, we proudly filled our one gallon jug with our new hand soap.

Super-doable, fun, cheaper than buying refills, and will create less plastic garbage. A win-win-win-win.  Definitely doing this again.  Try it and let me know how it goes for you!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Making hand soap from bar soap at me. make. do..

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

